Gifts, Resolutions, and Wishes*

Picture of students learning.

My students learning

This year has been the best year for me both personally and professionally. Now don’t get me wrong, there were some very challenging obstacles along the way but those will always serve as a reminder that in the end perseverance and faith in God will win the day, er I mean year.

I started 2014 by making the decision to quit a teaching position in North Carolina. I could no longer live a 20 hour drive away from my family nor could I work in a school system where the idea of putting students first was a foreign concept. The administrative support was inconsistent and at times down right missing. For example, testing results were of the utmost importance but on the days of testing there was no one around to distribute supplies or tests or even directions!

GIFTS

Needless to say, I thankfully moved back to the Midwest. In February I was tickled pink to finally meet the person who restored my faith and vision in education, my friend and mentor Mr. Jimmy Casas, Principal at Bettendorf High School. Jimmy showed me what education, teaching, learning, and leading in the 21st Century could become. He also introduced me to a vast network of forward thinking and innovative teachers and leaders. I attended my first EdCamp and my first tweet up! I knew from the moment I met Jimmy and his crew face to face that I was in the right place working with the right people to lead educational change.

I attended the Illinois Computing Educators (ICE) convention even paying extra to sit in on sessions lead by Steve Dembo, Dave Burgess, and Molly Schroeder. At that same convention I got to meet and spend time with Paul Solarz, Joy Kirr, Josh Stumpenhorst, Garnet Hillman and George Couros. I was so inspired by all these people that I knew I had to become an active participant in the educational change conversation by creating presentations for other teachers.

RESOLUTIONS

In March I dove deeper into my studies in educational technology and assessing for deep understanding. I also began substitute teaching and vigorously searching for teaching jobs focused in the Midwest but more specifically the state of Iowa. I needed to be near the core groups of leaders and teachers that had so touched my life.

I indeed began presenting at the Iowa 1:1 Institute, then at EdCampTC, I also had a proposal to present accepted for the International Society for Technology Education (ISTE) conference but due to financial concerns I had to withdraw my presentation. However, I was fortunate enough to attend the Technology Integration Conference (TIC) in Dubuque, IA where I met keynote speakers Richard Byrne (Free Tech 4 Teachers) and Lisa Johnson (Tech Chef 4 U). I also attended one day of the Games Learning Society Conference at the University of Wisconsin Madison.

WISHES

I wanted to teach and learn in an educational community in a face to face setting (I wanted a teaching job badly). In May I got the call from the big leagues. I had my best interview ever at Iowa City Regina Jr/Sr High School. The day following the interview I received two phone calls. The first call came from a principal in Minnesota with news that they selected another candidate I was both disappointed yet also relieved. It was a very strange mixture of feelings. Within two hours of that call I was again on the phone with principal Glenn Plummer from IC Regina who offered me a teaching job which I readily accepted.

The irony in this tale is that Regina was the only Catholic school I had applied to and I was enjoying the time I was spending as a substitute teacher at a Catholic high school in La Crosse, WI. I truly believe that God had/has a plan for me. I was hired to be a religion teacher and I had been searching decades for ways that I could become more involved in the church that I loved and called home. I am absolutely certain that God has planted me in Iowa City, near my core professional learning network, in a school looking for ways to serve the needs of its students better so that I may grow to my full potential as a teacher, learner, and change agent.

The future is potential filled as are the communities I serve. Have a happy new year friends. May you live long . . . . and grow where you’re planted 😎

*P.S. I “borrowed” the title for this post from Barb Gilman @BarbInNebraska

2 comments on “Gifts, Resolutions, and Wishes*

  1. Isn’t it amazing where life leads us? I feel that every decision I’ve made, every obstacle I’ve encountered… they’ve all led me to this (beautiful) place / position I live now. People I’ve encountered (I remember our pic with the ICE penguin!), people I’ve gotten to know, and those fleeting by have also affected all I do. I have loved a quote from a Dean Koontz book for some time now – “Destiny struggles to reassert the pattern that was meant to be.” I’m so glad you’ve found your place (for now)! I know you’ll continue to be grateful and spread that enthusiasm around toward others! Thank you for writing and sharing this post!

    • Joy, Thank you for taking the time to read and comment on my posts. Dean Koontz is a wise man (love his books). I hope that our paths continue to cross in the future. I was just telling a professor from the University of Iowa the other day about our meeting at that conference and all of the awesome things you do with your students and for teachers all over the world.

Leave a Reply

