Goals, Technology, and Observations

I have accepted the 30 days of blogging from the staff over at @teachthought.com. With planning for the three different courses I teach and gearing up to coach the robotics club, I have a lot on my plate this year. I mean, I’ve already missed days one and two (well I kind of have day two’s post in last week’s blog post)!

My New School Regina Jr/Sr High School in Iowa City.  reginaDay 1

Write your goals for the school year. Be as specific or abstract as you’d like to be!

SMART (Sustainable, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant, Time bound) Goal: I will implement game elements into my 9th grade theology course to increase student use of, excitement for, and understanding of the Holy Bible and Jesus Christ. I will measure the goal by developing a fall questionnaire, a semester questionnaire, and a spring questionnaire for students to take to see if student use of the Bible has increased. The data for the questionnaire will be gathered via Google Forms and I will gather anecdotal evidence to see if there is an increase in time spent in discussing and/or writing about how a part of scripture can be applied to life in our modern world (understanding). By the end of the 2014/15 school year I will have data to either support or refute my use of gamification in the theology course.

DUMB (Dream driven, Uplifting, Method friendly, Behavior triggered) Goal: I want to help make education AWESOME again by becoming more motivational or inspiring for teachers and students alike. My dream is that students will develop life-long learning portfolios and learn how to be strong, curious independent learners. I will surround myself by positive, innovative teachers and administrators that are relationship focused servant leaders.

See the difference between SMART Goals and DUMB Goals here.

Day 2

Write about one piece of technology that you would like to try this year, and why. You might also write about what you’re hoping to see out of this edtech integration. (See this blog post)

Day 3

Discuss one “observation” area that you would like to improve on for your teacher evaluation.

The observation area that I want to improve on is relating to my students. I am really focusing on building positive relationships with my students and I have realized that the positive starts with me. I can help students get excited about things by being excited about them. It’s all about how you convey the message to the kids. Build suspense, drama, excitement, and desire to learn by intentionally focusing on that in the daily planning.

Leave a Reply

