The Value of Blogs – The 10 Blogs I Visit Most

I have to be honest, I am a relative newbie to both social media and blogging. I only started doing both this past October(ish), so 7 months of learning. As I have stated in previous blogs, I have always been a reflective teacher, but blogging and twitter have helped me find my own voice, reflect, and learn. There are so many people that I learn from on a pretty consistent basis. If you look at my PLN list on twitter, I think you will find a compilation of who I consider to be the superstars or dream team of the education world.

skype_logo_galleryFriday, I had a Skype conversation with one of the first people I started following on twitter Ms. Kelly Tenkely (@ktenkely) and I still cannot believe that this superstar would make time for me to talk about education. I don’t think of myself as being in the same league with most of the people I follow, but I hope that every once in a while I can add to the conversation, make people stop and think, or pass on something worthwhile to help people grow professionally.

A few weeks ago Mr. Richard Byrne (@rmbyrne) wrote a post about the ten blogs that he must read every day. I thought that in this week’s blog I would follow his lead and give you my top ten or so list of blogs that I read on a regular basis. The list is in no particular order and I’m just going off the top of my head here (I know dangerous). So, I humbly present a list of blogs I follow on a regular basis.

Learning with ‘e’s by Dr. Steve Wheeler (@timbuckteeth) – blackboardDr. Wheeler is a professor at Plymouth in the U.K. He writes about issues related to technology and pedagogy. My thinking is always being stretched by reading his blog. He has a keen understanding about learning and integrating technology. A couple recent posts come to mind, Learning Theories for the Digital Age and Self Organised Learning Spaces. Dr. Wheeler presents his thoughts and ideas at many conferences throughout the world and his work can be found in many places across the web.

NASCAR Dash

MT & CKS Poole-

Blogging About the Web 2.0 Connected Classroom by Mr. Steven Anderson (@web20classroom) – Mr. Anderson is a technology coordinator for the Winston-Salem, North Carolina School District. Steven was one of the first people I began following on twitter and I sought out his advice frequently. Through his blog, Steven writes about many different topics that blend technology, leadership, and education. If you want to learn why you should be blogging or how incorporating technology in your classroom can help you and your students become better learners, then this is a must read blog. A couple recent blogs of note, Google Tools to Check Out and Professional Development on Your Time, Your Way. Mr. Anderson can be found presenting at many technology related conferences and helping add to the body of knowledge about how to use the web and social media for teachers and learners.

Up next, two Canadians, both principals, but worth reading what they have to say as connected administrators and leaders in learning. The first is Mr. Interview questionsGreg Miller (@millerg6) who writes a blog titled Principal Greg Miller. In his blog Greg strives to reflect upon his experiences in education, the current state of education and what education can look like. A couple recent posts I found interesting; The New Look Teacher Interview and Try a Mystery Skype. Here’s Why. Mr. Miller is also very approachable and will answer questions that you might have. I was blown away when I commented on one of his blog posts and he commented back. Wow, me getting a message from Principal Greg Miller, unbelievable.

cc licensed ( BY ) flickr photo shared by -= Bruce Berrien =-

cc licensed ( BY ) flickr photo shared by -= Bruce Berrien =-

The other Canadian is Mr. George Couros (@gcouros) who is a principal in Stony Plain, Alberta, look it up on a map. I like to refer the Mr. Couros asCurious George (no disrespect meant here, and no, I’m not comparing him to the monkey). The blog he writes is titled The Principal of Change. Always looking at moving education forward and sharing what he learns, George’s blog is amazing. He reflects upon his learning and experiences as a leader. I like his most recent blog post 10 Ideas to Move Innovation Forward.

Vicki Davis (@coolcatteacher)CoolCat is one of the most amazing teachers I know and I have never even met her. We tweet back and forth occasionally and I find that I re-tweet many of her tweets to the people who follow me on twitter. Mrs. Davis is involved in social media and education in many different ways. You have to remember that this woman teaches elementary students all day long in Georgia, tweets more than a dozen times a day, writes books (see last week’s blog post), presents at conferences (Google “Flat Classroom”), puts together magazines for Flipboard, and is on Facebook and Google+. Whew, and did I mention she writes a blog? Yep, Cool Cat Teacher Blog. And her blog is awesome. I have learned so much from Mrs. Davis and there is no way I could ever repay her for all the help she has directly and indirectly given to me. She pours her heart and soul into the profession of teaching, just read her most recent blog post, 10 ways to End the School Year on an Up Note when You’re Exhausted and you will understand how caring and noble this teacher is to all that get the honor to know her.

I just realized that I am only half way through my list and I have a pretty long blog post for busy people on the go to read. So, I am going to put a hold on the next five and continue this blog sometime around Wednesday this week. However, I do want to thank all of you that are part of my social media networks. I would never have had such an enjoyable six or seven months if it weren’t for your leadership and encouragement. Thanks and God Bless.

One comment on “The Value of Blogs – The 10 Blogs I Visit Most

  1. Thank you so much for the kind words and great list. You are a very helpful tweeter and blogger and I hope to have the honor of meeting you one day! Actually I teach middle and high school but as IT director I work with all grades and have things to share. Thanks again for including me and I’ll be looking to see the rest of your list.

Leave a Reply

